Home Gothic Gothic II Gothic 3 Gothic 4 Downloads Forums

 
 
 

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. View Forum Posts #1
    Apprentice
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    11
     
    naurismucenieks is offline

    Post [G3] Can't add a new fully working quest.

    Hello.
    great news - finally got a new pc, so i can run G3 somewhat good.
    im running 1.74 CP , couse i dont have SM 3.0.

    so, im trying to make a quest - i add a new quest file.
    i add new info files and new strings - but they dont appear in-game.
    im guessing im using a wrong technique to attach/add them to the game, but my knowledge of extensions and packing is limited..

    what is the TRUE propper way to add a new quest?
    when i pack it with G3PakDir, should i add all the files from Strings.pak or only the string.ini?
    should the string.ini be a new one? or the old one, only edited?

    and what about the infos?
    should i pack all the infos? or just the new ones?

    im talking about after i convert them to .bin after starting new-game..

    also - the extensions, what extensions should i use for them? .mod, .p0x, .cpt?
    theres just so many possibilities, and simply so time - consuming, and complex for my tired mind - most probably the answer is rather very simple, i just cant see it yet.


    So - a little TUT or some help would prove MOST usefull.
    thanks

  2. View Forum Posts #2
    Ritter
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Ekaterinburg, Russia
    Posts
    1,967
     
    Dimus is offline
    @ naurismucenieks:
    Try to study a CP_1_7x_Manual_Addendum_for_Modders.pdf manual (English version), which comes with a CP v1.75 and contains some basic information about the G3 modding. Or you may unpack it from the patch manually with the innounp command line tool.

  3. View Forum Posts #3
    Apprentice
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    11
     
    naurismucenieks is offline
    Quote Originally Posted by Dimus View Post
    @ naurismucenieks:
    Try to study a CP_1_7x_Manual_Addendum_for_Modders.pdf manual (English version), which comes with a CP v1.75 and contains some basic information about the G3 modding. Or you may unpack it from the patch manually with the innounp command line tool.

    Hello and thanks for the fast response.
    the thing is i have studied the tut, and done everything said there, even in several ways and such.
    i was wandering about the extensions - what must they contain, and what extension does it need (somehow .mod isnt working (which is mentioned in .pdf tut)), and some other things as what files must/should be removed (besides Projects_compiled .cpt and .p00) aswell should AB should be enabled or disabled in this case.

    catch my drift?

    thanks again!

    now when i come to think of it - i actually can formulate my question better - what tools should i use?
    in example : i use Gothic 3 Editor for quest,infos and string editing. maybe thats the problem?


    i added a link for a .rar file that contains all the included files - maybe someone could look at them, and tell me whats wrong with them? that would be very nice and helpfull!

    https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B424...T0k/edit?pli=1

    P.S.

    the strings file is taken from the full stringtable.ini, to reduce size.
    Last edited by naurismucenieks; 30.11.2012 at 02:16. Reason: update

  4. View Forum Posts #4
    Schwertmeister
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Minsk
    Posts
    749
     
    zandr is offline
    Sometimes it is useful to study the structure of already existing mods and do by analogy.

    Also you need to know these docs:
    Information about Info- and Quest- files

    Good luck!

  5. View Forum Posts #5
    Schwertmeister
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Minsk
    Posts
    749
     
    zandr is offline
    Some mistake are present in you info-file

    [Info]
    Name=
    SortID=9999990
    Owner=Ford
    InfoGiven=false
    Parent
    Quest=A_Montera_Ford_KillJack
    ConditionType=2
    InfoType=1
    GoldCost=0
    CondOwnerNearEntity
    Folder=/Myrtana/Montera_City/
    CondPlayerKnows
    CondItemContainer
    CondItems
    CondItemsAmounts
    CondSecondaryNPC
    CondSecondaryNPCstates
    ClearChildren=false
    InfoScript_Commands=Say;Say;Say
    InfoScript_Entities1=npc;npc;player
    InfoScript_Entities2=;;
    InfoScript_IDs1=Say;Say;Say;
    InfoScript_IDs2=;;
    InfoScript_Texts=QUEST_A_Montera_Ford_Kill_Jack_1;QUEST_A_Montera_Ford_Kill_Jack_2;QUEST_A_Montera_Ford_Kill_Jack_3
    TeachSkillIsPerc=false
    TeachSkillIndex=0
    TeachSkillValue=0
    Permanent=false
    TeachSkill
    TeachAttrib
    TeachAttribValue
    You should correctly fill line Name. It should be not empty but

    Name=A_Montera_Ford_KillJack_1
    Also change 3 times QUEST to INFO, the same in stringtable.
    Last edited by zandr; 01.12.2012 at 00:34.

  6. View Forum Posts #6
    Apprentice
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    11
     
    naurismucenieks is offline
    hey there zandr, and thanks for the help. ill try it out in just a sec.

    i tried several times, several quest types, all kinds of variations, i even tried simply copy-paste technique. but allas - no result.

    the thing is - when i use G3 quest editor, and make a new file - it doesnt add a name to it, also to the info files.
    and when i try to edit them myself - G3 editor doesnt save the changes.
    its a bug? maybe. not sure, but im figuring that it might be because i translated the program from german to english myself, just because it was waaaaay to confusing for me. ill try to make a new quest using the original G3 editor.

    all in all, thanks for looking at my files, you really deserve a coockie from me.

    p.s.
    type is set to 1, because i tried to manipulate so the dialogue wouldnt be a info type, but urgent/something, i didnt change it back before i uploaded it.

    have a nice day!

  7. View Forum Posts #7
    Schwertmeister
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Minsk
    Posts
    749
     
    zandr is offline
    Quote Originally Posted by naurismucenieks View Post

    what is the TRUE propper way to add a new quest?

    ...and what about the infos?
    should i pack all the infos? or just the new ones?
    I never used Modkit for creating quest and info files. How to do it MANUALY:

    Get any existing quest-file and change carefully by any notepad-like programme what you need. Rename the file into "x_quest_G3_World_01" where x = Name (first line)
    Put the file into the folder Quests\G3_World_01
    Pack the "Quests" folder by G3 pack-unpack tool into the file quests.mod or quests.m0x if you use mod starter.

    Do the same with info-files. No need to pack old quests- an info- files.

    Unpack existing stringtable.ini, add your lines, pack into srtings.mod. Or create stringtableMod.ini with only new lines if use Modstarter.

    Integrate your new files by Modstarter or do it manualy:
    Delete all projects_compiled files exept of projects_compiled.pak from the Data folder of the Game! Put your new files into this folder, usually 3 - quests.mod, infos.mod and strins.mod.

    Should working. If no - read "CP_1_7x_Manual_Addendum_for_Modders_ru" and "Information about Info and Quest" again and again, check acarefully your files again and again
    and find mistake. I don't know another way. Modding is not so easy thing at least in the begging.

  8. View Forum Posts #8
    Apprentice
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    11
     
    naurismucenieks is offline
    hey there, and thanks for the assist.
    i dont yet know what worked - but it did work.

    i think the problem was that the editor simply didnt add the name for the quest file, thats all.

    thanks a lot, im gonna add a few hundred quests now..

    so yes, i'll mark this solved.
    thou' im wandering - why does the editor do that? i checked the german un-translated one - the same thing.
    maybe its because its beta.. maybe not..

    well, nevermind that, no biggy - just have to add quest-name manually.
    Last edited by naurismucenieks; 02.12.2012 at 23:53. Reason: would be nice to close this thread and mark [Solved] - if its necessary. :)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
Impressum | Link Us | intern
World of Gothic © by World of Gothic Team
Gothic, Gothic 2 & Gothic 3 are © by Piranha Bytes & Egmont Interactive & JoWooD Productions AG, all rights reserved worldwide