PDA

Archiv verlassen und diese Seite im Standarddesign anzeigen : Basic help please

Ragnarok6503
18.11.2005, 06:11
I just downloaded the demo of Gothic I while I wait for my full game to arrive. I started playing, but I cannot equip any weapons or use items in my inventory or trade in the big camp.

i tried to change the keyboard configuration, but that didn't help. I don't know if I should be getting a cursor arrow when I open my inventory. I am not getting one if I should. Nothing I try works and it seems like I've exhausted all the possible ways to use equipment. I tried to figure this out for about an hour before I gave up for the evening.

Obviously, I'm missing something if I don't have a bug in the demo. I know this is a ridiculous problem, however, any help will be appreciated.

Thanks.

rockfest
18.11.2005, 08:49
First... §welcome to the forum. Please post something in the Welcome (http://forum.worldofplayers.de/forum/showthread.php?t=84056&goto=lastpost) thread about yourself. Anyway...
I've always said that is good to discover how to play gothic by yourself but if you reached the old camp and still not know how to do that then i should say how(this explination is based on the gothic default keyboard layout) :
- to select anything in the gothic world you have to press CTRL+UP(this means starting a dialogue with someone, open chests,activate/deactivate items in inventory, climb a lader, etc.);
- to "change"(i don't know if is the right word but you'll figure it out from the examples) something you either have to press CTRL+LEFT or CTRL+RIGHT(this is when you want to "transfer" contents from a chest to your inventory, when you buy/sell something from the merchants,etc).
- and about the combat system : attack forward=CTRL+UP; attack right=CTRL+RIGHT; attack left=CTRL+LEFT; block=CTRL+BACK.
I hope that you understand but just to let you know, there is a manual(should be at least) in the main gothic folder wich tells you these things more better.