Home Gothic Gothic II Gothic 3 Gothic 4 Downloads Forums

 
 
 

Results 1 to 16 of 16
  1. View Forum Posts #1
    Deus WernerTWC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Germany/NRW
    Posts
    13,337
     
    WernerTWC is offline

    Exclamation Technical help (FAQ)

    If you got special technical problems with the game, and need help, then make a thread for it, but please
    take care that you do it in this way:


    Thread-Title: Choose a title, that describes the problem, first write G1, G2, Or NotR and then the error-message (or a little part of the error-message) in the thread-title, i.e.:

    G2: DDER_UNSUPPORTED

    Thread: Describe your problem as good and detailed as you can! Nobody is able to help you, if you only write something like "i have a problem, it doesn`t work"! And when you get an error-message, please make a screen-shot of it!

    1) How to make a screenshot


    For the more general problems, read and try this:


    Here are some general hints which can help to solve technical problems, just try one after the other, or try those hints first, you think of that they will solve the problems:

    2) Save-game backup
    3) Patches
    4) Viruses and spy-ware
    5) Background Programs
    6) Reinstall the game
    7) Windows Media Center Edition
    8) Updates
    9) Virtual Memory
    10) Deeper Hardware trouble
    11) Installing Problems with Gothic 2 and/or the Addon
    12) Solved problems
    13) Gothic-Vista-SoundFix
    14) Gothic 2 extractor
    15) Fix for ATI users experiencing poor FPS





    THX @ MikeG & rockfest for the corrections !
    Last edited by WernerTWC; 17.08.2010 at 17:45.

  2. View Forum Posts #2
    Deus WernerTWC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Germany/NRW
    Posts
    13,337
     
    WernerTWC is offline

    How to make a screenshot

    How to make a screenshot:

    If you only need to make one screenshot, you can just hit the "print-screen"-key on your keyboard. Then open the windows-included "paint", hit ctrl+v, choose "file" -> save -> give it a name, below the name choose JPEG from the pull down menu and hit save.

    If you wanna make more than one screenshot, you can use a tool which makes it easier.
    Here you can download:
    HoverSnap
    (Easy screen capture tool).

    And then upload the screenshot of the problem or the error-message i.e. on the WoG-Upload and post the link to it into your problem-thread.
    Explanation about the WoG-Upload plus the required password:
    http://forum.worldofplayers.de/forum...&#post12799565
    Last edited by WernerTWC; 06.09.2010 at 21:43.

  3. View Forum Posts #3
    Deus WernerTWC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Germany/NRW
    Posts
    13,337
     
    WernerTWC is offline

    Save-game backup

    Save-game backup:

    First of all, make a backup of your save-games.
    (To do so, go to the Gothic-folder, copy the "Saves"-Folder and paste it, i.e. on the desktop).
    Last edited by WernerTWC; 29.12.2006 at 21:37.

  4. View Forum Posts #4
    Deus WernerTWC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Germany/NRW
    Posts
    13,337
     
    WernerTWC is offline

    Patches

    - Patches:

    Gothic 1 - Patch v1.08k
    (If you have the game-version 1.08j, a patch to v1.08k is only needed if you encounter graphic problems like flickering inventory, no menu, or for that case that you own a ATI Radeon or an old Geforce graphic card).

    Gothic Unofficial Patch
    Fixes several bugs left in the game after the last official release(1.08j/k).

    Gothic II - Patch v1.29 Beta
    (If you have older save-games you want to continue).


    Gothic II - Patch v1.30
    (If you start a new game, use this, instead of 1.29).


    Gothic II Vdfs - Patch
    (Only if you have problems with the initialization of the virtual-datafile-system).


    Gothic II - Add-on Patch 2.6
    (The official Patch, don't needed for the english AddOn, because it's already patched to version 2.7).


    Gothic II Addon Script patch
    (Unofficial Patch, solves some bugs like the well known Lares-Bug).
    Last edited by Korianous; 03.06.2010 at 16:40.

  5. View Forum Posts #5
    Deus WernerTWC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Germany/NRW
    Posts
    13,337
     
    WernerTWC is offline

    Viruses and spy-ware

    - Viruses and spy-ware

    Check your system for Viruses with this freeware:
    AntiVir PersonalEdition Classic

    Check your system for spyware with this freeware:
    Ad-Aware SE Personal Edition 1.06
    Spybot - Search & Destroy 1.4
    Last edited by WernerTWC; 29.12.2006 at 21:36.

  6. View Forum Posts #6
    Deus WernerTWC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Germany/NRW
    Posts
    13,337
     
    WernerTWC is offline

    Background Programs

    - Background Programs

    Shut down all other programs and progresses in the background, if they´re not necessary for playing. To do so, enter the task-manager (by pressing "Crtl"+"Alt"+"Del"). Click on "applications" and shut down everything (mark the prog and then click on "end task (cancel/finish task,
    my windows is German-version, so some names could be not match to the English windows like this "end task").
    Leave the task-manager, then shutdown all progs you don´t need for playing (like Download-Manager, Firewalls, Anti Virus-progs, ICQ, etc). The icons of those progs you´ll find normally in the lower right (in the task-bar).
    (In some cases it became necessary to uninstall a Firewall/Anti Virus-prog/Anti-spyware not only shut it down).
    With the Autostartmanager v1.42 you can also check and kill unnecessary progs they loading automatically on windows-startup.

    Instead of installing another program one can kill auto-start programs from the MsConfig.
    - Open Start Menu -> Run
    - Type msconfig and hit enter
    - Click Startup tab and one can disable mostly all the programs from the menu.
    - Click Apply -> OK and then Restart. After the restart select the check-box which appears first on the desktop and OK.



    Also try to deinstall all programs which create a virtual-drive on your system, all burn-programs and all which is from Norton.

    Edit a list of the necessary/windows tasks:
    http://www-pc.uni-regensburg.de/syst...nXP/xpproc.htm
    Last edited by WernerTWC; 10.02.2007 at 18:11.

  7. View Forum Posts #7
    Deus WernerTWC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Germany/NRW
    Posts
    13,337
     
    WernerTWC is offline

    Reinstall the game

    - Reinstall the game:

    Uninstall the game, delete also manually the game folder, restart the PC and install the game new.

    If something went wrong:
    Quote Originally Posted by WernerTWC View Post
    Manually uninstall of g1:

    - start RegEdit.exe, search HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Uninstall
    - search 'gothic' till you find 'DisplayName'='Gothic'
    - the found name of the found regestry-path is the GUID for the installation ( '{BBF10B37-4ED3-11D5-A818-00500435FC18}' )
    - delete the path [Programs]\InstallShield Installation Information\[GUID]
    - delete the above found path with the GUID

    If Patch 1.08k is inastalled, the same again for 'DisplayName'='Gothic_Patch'. (by NicoDE).
    Last edited by WernerTWC; 24.01.2007 at 21:34.

  8. View Forum Posts #8
    Deus WernerTWC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Germany/NRW
    Posts
    13,337
     
    WernerTWC is offline

    Windows Media Center Edition

    - Windows Media Center Edition:
    Causes much problems, the game is not made for MCE, so i strongly recommend to use Windows 98 or XP!

  9. View Forum Posts #9
    Deus WernerTWC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Germany/NRW
    Posts
    13,337
     
    WernerTWC is offline

    Updates

    - Updates

    Your whole system should work with the newest drivers and windows-updates.

    BIOS Update: Consult your Motherboard-Manufactures-website and update your BIOS to the latest (NOT BETA)-version.

    Windows: Install Windows XP Service Pack 2 first, then download all you can get with Windows-Auto-update (start it again and again till it shows you no more to download!).

    Then shut down the DEP for SP2 (Data Execution Prevention ):
    Click here for a how to do so!

    The same with screenshots from the english windows.

    Others: Use the newest drivers for your graphic- and sound-card.
    ( www.nvidia.com for
    nVidia drivers and www.ati.com for ATI drivers).

  10. View Forum Posts #10
    Deus WernerTWC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Germany/NRW
    Posts
    13,337
     
    WernerTWC is offline

    Virtual Memory

    - Virtual Memory:
    A value of 1024MB is known as a good value for Gothic:

    1. For virtual memory :

    - right-click My Computer -> Properties
    - click Advanced tab -> Performance : Settings
    - click Advanced tab -> Virtual Memory : Change

    Now, if you have more HDD´s than one, then you have to choose one by click on it.
    There choose "user-defined" and type in on min- and max-value "1024".
    Click on "determine" (or confirm or whatever it´s called).
    On all other HDD´s shut the virtual memory down, just choose the HDD and click on "no virtual memory" and confirm it.
    If you have only one HDD, then set it to min- and max-value "1024".

    After that, click on OK in the open windows to close them.

  11. View Forum Posts #11
    Deus WernerTWC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Germany/NRW
    Posts
    13,337
     
    WernerTWC is offline

    Deeper Hardware trouble

    - Deeper Hardware trouble:
    Make a thread for it, download this tool:
    EVEREST Home Edition
    (Click there on "Jetzt herunterladen", means download now.)

    Then install it, start it, choose in the "report"-menu (Bericht) "Quick-Report - All Pages" (Schnellbericht, alle Seiten) -> "Plain text" (Vollständiger Text).
    Prog is working, wait a while, when it´s finished click "save to file", and save it.
    You cannot post the whole report here, because it´s too long, so upload it somewhere, or send it to me
    with email and i´ll make it an attachment to your problem-thread.

  12. View Forum Posts #12
    Deus WernerTWC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Germany/NRW
    Posts
    13,337
     
    WernerTWC is offline

    Installing Problems with Gothic 2 and/or the Addon

    - Installing Problems with Gothic 2 and/or the Addon:
    Insert CD-ROM, download this:
    gothic2-setup.zip Unzip it and start Gothic2-Setup.bat ...

    The same for Addon.

    Alternatively, the Gothic II Extractor.
    Last edited by Korianous; 01.11.2009 at 15:22.

  13. View Forum Posts #13
    Deus WernerTWC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Germany/NRW
    Posts
    13,337
     
    WernerTWC is offline

    Solved problems

    - Solved problems:

    G2 Error: DDER_UNSUPPORTED
    (XD3D_InitPerDX: Can't create D3DX context! Error. DDERR_UNSUPPORTED)

    MEM_BAD_POINTER
    (MEM_BAD_POINTER)

    Gothic II crashes during save progress
    (crash without any error-message).

    sky problem
    (Sky flickers-problem).

    G2: B:VFILE: Err:-2:
    (B:VFILE: Err:-2: Can't find file:_WORK\DATA\ANIMS\_COMPILED\ITMW_2H_ORCAXE_03.MRM Code: 255)
    and/or
    (B:VFILE: Err:-2: Can't find file:_WORK\DATA\SOUND\ITMW_2H_ORCAXE_03.MRM Code: 255)

    Game always crashes at same part
    (B:VFILE: Err: -2: Can't find file:_work\data\music\dungeon\itrw_2h_orcstaff_01.mrm code:255)
    UPDATE: The Gothic Unofficial Patch fixes this issue.

    Mod-Installation for G2-Gold (v2.7)
    (How to install a modification if you have G2-Gold (v2.7))

    Mod-Installation for G2-Gold (v2.7) (Update)

    GOTHIC has encountered a problem and needs to close. We are sorry for the inconvenie.
    (When the game suddenly shuts down.)

    notr won't start anymore
    (Startup-probs, solution deinstall anti-virus-programms for testing-purpose)

    Gothic 2 Gold: Voice problem
    (Voice is missing)
    Last edited by Korianous; 03.06.2010 at 16:37.

  14. View Forum Posts #14
    Deus WernerTWC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Germany/NRW
    Posts
    13,337
     
    WernerTWC is offline
    - Gothic-Vista-SoundFix

    Quote Originally Posted by Modres View Post
    I wrote Installers for these files because many users had problems with extracting/copying in the right Folder.
    Every Installer finds automatically the correct path.

    For the G1-version you must have installed the Playerkit-1.08k.

  15. View Forum Posts #15
    Deus WernerTWC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Germany/NRW
    Posts
    13,337
     
    WernerTWC is offline
    - Gothic 2 extractor

    Quote Originally Posted by mistress_larisa View Post
    Gothic 2 extractor is an alternative for installing G2.

    In case you get a "math64.dll" or an "Insufficient Memory" error when you try to install Gothic 2, here's a possible solution: use the batch installer provided here.

    So far the scripts work only with:
    • G2 on 3CDs in English
    • G2 on 3CDs in English (another variant)
    • G2 on DVD in English
    • G2 Gold on 4CDs in English
    • G2 Gold on DVD in English


    How it works: it will copy the files from the optical media onto your hard drive, it will create the G2 folder structure, extract the files from archives, move each file where it belongs and delete the leftovers.

    It doesn't make shortcuts and it doesn't write in the registry.

    Right now it does some error checking, but it's still possible to encounter problems, so if one step of the script doesn't work as it should, it won't always exit gracefully (which will probably result in more errors). But it's safe, it won't screw your system (no guarantees though ).


    Here's the file: click me

    Installation: unpack the archive, put the G2 disk in the drive, launch the matching *.cmd file and follow the on-screen instructions.
    http://forum.worldofplayers.de/forum...&#post11062324
    Last edited by WernerTWC; 17.08.2010 at 17:42.

  16. View Forum Posts #16
    Deus WernerTWC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Germany/NRW
    Posts
    13,337
     
    WernerTWC is offline
    - Fix for ATI users experiencing poor FPS

    Quote Originally Posted by GothicFighter View Post
    If you own an ATI Graphic Card and your Gothic/Gothic 2 game is really laggy, there is a fix you can apply.

    It seems that ATI Video cards are not successfully managing all of the video memory of the card while running G1 or G2. To solve this problem, you have to simply open a graphically intensive app/benchmark (Link)

    After you install one of them, open it and then open Gothic/Gothic 2.
    Your game should be running smooth now, all maxxed out.
    Thread:
    http://forum.worldofplayers.de/forum...&#post13646352

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
Impressum | Link Us | intern
World of Gothic © by World of Gothic Team
Gothic, Gothic 2 & Gothic 3 are © by Piranha Bytes & Egmont Interactive & JoWooD Productions AG, all rights reserved worldwide