[January 18: added new Historical Basis section, added to Equipment section, added to Graphics section]

the following is an extremely long, detailed explanation of an RPG game idea I've been working on for a few months now.
the game(idea) is called Drifter. why should you bother to read it all? well, consider the following similarities with the Piranha Bytes RPGs:

- Action-RPG focused on immersion, player choice, and a cohesive, reactive/interactive world/storyline
- the three character improvement paths(for this game I'm calling them Warrior, Prowler, and Wizard)
- NPCs teach skills and abilities
- medieval low-fantasy setting
- a heavy focus on factions, totally impossible to experience it all in one playthrough
- a "blank slate" nameless player character who still shows a subtle, unique personality
- orks vs humans, lizard people from underground, and a living Titan
- an artful, organically composed, truly 3D gameworld
- non-immersion-breaking alternatives to things like a quest compass and floating signs above NPCs

granted maybe not all these promises are fulfilled by whats written below them, but they do convey
my intention for this game, Drifter. it is very much intended as a tribute to Gothic 1-3 and at least Risen 1.
therefor, once I plan out the other aspects of Drifter they will reflect the above similarities just like
the parts I have planned and written below here.

Mele Combat:

- no cheesy smack-talk between opponents in battle(such as in Elder Scrolls)
- any living thing can be attacked and killed(if necessary this will require a special "adult" patch)
- moves at a realistic pace and speed
- strictly realistic sound effects(not like the Hollywood foley art)
- use many ordinary objects as weapons
- a lethal unarmed combat system for Warriors, and a stealthy one for Prowlers
- execute a rapid Rush Attack combo by holding down the heavy or fast mele attack button